Friendship Day and What It Stands For

Every small shopkeeper in India celebrates the arrival of the first Sunday of August.

Why? Because the first Sunday of every August is when we Indians celebrate Friendship Day!

Friendship Day = friendship bands = hundreds of excited kids forcing their parents to drive them to the shops to buy all kinds of rings and bracelets to give to their friends.

Just like pretty much everywhere in India, we go all out in our society. Every year, we decide a time on the Saturday before Friendship Day, and at this time, we all have to meet at any one person’s house. After we tie our bands to one another, we go around to all our friends’ houses in the whole society, building by building, until everyone is wearing bracelets or rings up until their armpits.

It’s so awesome, and it’s also an excuse to let your crafty selves shine. A lot of people like to make the bracelets that they’re going to distribute, and let me tell you, it was nice to blow the dust off my Rainbow Loom. It’s great fun making bands and/or rings in your friends’ favourite colours. One year, two of my besties helped me make these beautiful bracelets out of braided pieces of yarn, and another, I had to rush to the shops about an hour before we agreed to meet, because I had completely forgotten to make/buy some! It’s always a blast, and don’t even get me started on how beautiful our hands look afterwards!

Another great part of this tradition (if you will), is building up the collection. All of us are secretly super proud of the huge boxes full of friendship bands we’ve acquired over the years 🙂 .

But although collecting and distributing bracelets and rings is symbolic of friendship and Friendship Day, that’s not what it is all about.

I feel that we should appreciate our friends every day, because they play a huge part in our lives. Especially for teenagers, friends are those people who are there are for you in a way that your parents and family sometimes just can’t be, and I’m sure you would agree if you were ever an adolescent.

I know that my life would be absolutely miserable without my friends. Sometimes I just sit and ruminate over all the amazing times we have shared together, and how big of a role they play in my life.

So here’s to all my wonderful friends. Thank you for making me laugh until I couldn’t breathe, for convincing me to jump into a swimming pool fully dressed, and doing it right along with me. For underlining my work in my English book when everyone had already left the school building for home, and I was still struggling to complete my essay, because you knew that our teacher would deduct 2 marks if those red lines weren’t there. For humouring me and my crazy antics, for singing ‘The Number Song’ together in Math. For coming over to my place and just talking for hours when my parents weren’t home, because you knew I hate being alone. For being supportive, and superb, and keeping my secrets and trusting me with yours. For putting up with me and even appreciating me. For making skits in French with me, with the highly experienced cast of an eraser, a sharpener, and a pen. For claiming the biggest treat whenever I would bake something, and for spitting it right back out and having a laugh-fest with me if it was a disaster. For calling me really, really innovative names (they will not be revealed, don’t worry guys 🙂 ). For your drunken banter at our sleepovers, for tolerating me when I went off on one of my Marvel rants. For knowing what I was thinking just by looking at me, for helping me decide what to wear. For making the ultimate sacrifice when I was sick, coming to visit me and not going down to play football *gasp*. For going right along with all my crazy ideas. For everything.

Thank you 🙂 . I love you guys.

Here’s a quote that pretty much sums up our friendship:

Post #74 (4).jpg

So, you see, I think Friendship Day should be seen as more of a wake up call. A time to get some tape and mend those broken friendships, to pick up the phone and call an old pal, to put aside bitterness and grudges and appreciate your gang.

Woah, philosophical today.

What does Friendship Day mean to you? What do you like most about your friends?

Please let me know in the comments below, and thanks for reading 🙂

ThePastryPoet, signing off.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

