Banana and Chocolate Chip Muffins – Ultimate Yumminess!

Hello and welcome back to another episode of…

THEPASTRYPOETTTTTTT!!!

*cue automated clapping and a 360-degree camera angle of the stage, host and audience*

That’s what it would be like if I had my own TV show, but I don’t so…

What’s up guys?

I am pleased to report that I had the time to bake this week! This Thursday I did not have piano class, and so I ended with some extra free time on my hands. My first thought was to get a head start on some studying and the blog, but then I was like “You know what? It is about time I did something that I actually want to do, not something I am required to do. Don’t get me wrong, I love a lot of the things that come with deadlines and are part of my daily schedule, like my blog (of course) and occasionally even homework! But, sometimes, don’t you feel the need to do something just because you want to do it, because it’s fun and it makes you feel good?

So that Thursday evening, even though it was already 7:30 pm and I don’t usually bake in the evening, I put on my apron, tied my hair in a bun, and took out a whisk.

The result was these delectable little treats, and they are a real milestone for me, because, I don’t quite like the concept of fruit.

Sure, it’s not like I survive on cheeseburgers and cupcakes (lol yes I do), but fruits and vegetables do not sit well with me, especially not bananas. No, no, no. They’re appealing when they’re on trees, not in my mouth.

But a few months ago, when a few of my neighbours brought me homemade banana and chocolate chip muffins, I couldn’t believe how much I loved them. I went nuts for those muffins, and when I was desperately trying to think of something new to make, I saw the bananas on the table and went

BINGO!

Bingo, indeed. Here is my go to recipe for Banana and Chocolate Chip Muffins, which came out perfect on the very first try!

Ingredients

  • 3 medium sized bananas
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cups of light brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup of milk
  • 1/2 cup of butter (melted)
  • 2 cups of all purpose / plain flour
  • 2 1/4 tsp of baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp of ground cinnamon

Putting It All Together

  1. Lots of fun – take your bananas (without the peels, of course xD ), chuck ’em in a bowl, and mash! What a great stress buster, you can take out all your frustration on those poor unknowing berries (I know right?! Strawberries aren’t berries, but bananas are :0 )! Beat ’em to a pulp, or until they look kind of paste-y with roughly equal-sized chunks.
  2. Chuck in your eggs and brown sugar, and mix until combined.
  3. In goes the milk and butter, and again, mix until combined.
  4. In a separate bowl, mix your dry ingredients together.
  5. Nice and easy, combine your wet and dry ingredients (in whichever bowl is bigger) until you have a nice, thick batter.
  6. OMG it smells so good at this point. Add in your chocolate chips and stir until they’re evenly distributed, and you’re good to go!
  7. Divide the batter evenly in your muffin tin, and bake for about 18 to 20 minutes in a preheated oven, at 350 C or 180 F.
  8. Devour.

Here’s how they turned out the first time!

When I saw the big air bubbles caused by the heaviness of the banana, I was a little sceptical because banana can make baked goods quite dense. However, I had to show you this because it is proof of a SUPERB banana muffin! I completely reject dense cakes, so you can take my word when I say that these were amazingly light and fluffy, the real springs-back-to-the-touch kind. Yummmm.

Notes and Specifications

  • I kinda cheated and took a risk with this recipe, but it paid off! When I saw that the recipe called for melted butter, I realised that all my ingredients except the butter were out on the counter. I’m a pathetically lazy person, and the fridge is a whole ten steps away, so I decided to substitute it with the same amount of oil, because both are fats and I’ve seen them used interchangeably quite a few times. It worked just fine, maybe even better! Of course, that doesn’t mean you go around replacing butter with oil (or vice versa), but you can use one as an alternate if the other isn’t available.
  • Wondering why those chocolate chips look mysteriously like chocolate chunks? That’s because they are! I didn’t have any chips on hand, so I simply chopped a few pieces into squares and used them. Delicious!

Please please please give this recipe a go, they will not let you down.

Take it from someone who used to run away at the sight of bananas.

ThePastryPoet, signing off.

 

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. kp says:

    hey. a suggestion. pls put your name in blank space of the photo so that we could enjoy the pic even more😊

    Like

    1. Hey! I’m sorry, I couldn’t quite get ya there, my bad. Could you please rephrase 🙂 ?
      ThePastryPoet

      Liked by 1 person

      1. kp says:

        Sorry for not being clear. you images has ur name in the centre. if it is in the top corner or bottom corner, the image would be even better.

        Like

      2. Hey there! I actually have to put the text in the middle because it could easily be cropped out and the photo could be passed off as anyone else’s 🙂 . Thanks for your feedback, I’ll definitely try and make the text lighter.
        ThePastryPoet

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

