Sugar Cookies To Shock Your Taste Buds

The good kind of shock, of course.

Not the kind where you turn on the TV and find that the only Harry Potter movie you have left to record, just ended.

Trust me, that is not the good kind of shock.

Anyway, HAPPY FRIDAY PEOPLE!

As you can see, I am a little over enthusiastic about my Fridays, and for good reason. Fridays not only mark the beginning of a two day holiday (which always seems like two seconds, am I right?!), but it is also the day of the week which I allot for baking.

Unfortunately, I don’t find time for baking and cooking during the week, what with all the homework and academic demands of tenth grade, along with my blog and extracurriculars, and the fact that I must get all of this done by 7:30pm so I can go to play football, daily.

That’s why I make the most of my Fridays, and live in the kitchen.

This week’s recipe is a classic: sugar cookies! Every baker or aspiring patisser should have this in their repertoire, and no, it is not the same epic disaster one which I told the tale of in Baking Blunders We All Have Experienced.

Thankfully.

No, this is a tried and tested recipe which was a real hit with my friends. We all had woken up nice and early because we were going trekking! I had packed a bag full of these brightly coloured treats for the long drive, and I really, truly did not expect them to be as popular as they were. When I pulled them out in the car, my friend ended up taking one, then two, then so did everybody else, and a few minutes later the bag contained nothing but air. That’s exactly what happened!

So, they are absolutely delicious, and I do hope you give them a shot. Let’s get on with the recipe!

This is not my recipe, and I have not developed it. It was created by the wonderful Laura Vitale, and you can click here to check out the full video tutorial for these cookies on her wildly successful YouTube channel, or view the recipe on her website by clicking here. However, the pictures show the results of my own baking, as usual.

Ingredients

  • 3 cups all purpose / plain flour
  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Putting It All Together

  1. Making sure your butter is at room temperature and therefore easy to work with, cream your butter and sugar together until light and fluffy.
  2. Mix in the eggs and vanilla, beating well.
  3. Sift in all your dry ingredients. At this point, I like to switch over to a wooden spoon or spatula from an electric mixer because I find that it makes the dough much easier to work with.
  4. Although this is not in Laura’s original recipe, I added some food dye to mine at about this stage in the form of Wilton’s Gel Paste Food Colours. Just rub it into the dough with your hand until the dye looks evenly distributed.
  5. Wrap your dough (or sections of dough, like I had, because I did a bunch of colours) in cling film and let them chill in the refrigerator for at least an hour. I speak from experience, do NOT skip this step because your dough will be too soft to roll out and keep tearing and sticking. We want to avoid a hot mess.
  6. Take the dough out of the fridge and cut into desired shapes. I had a lot of fun with these, I even rolled out some dough with my hand to make funny faces and things, and baked a heart cookie on top of a differently coloured circle one to give a cute, unique cookie. You can do whatever you’d like!
  7. Bake in a preheated oven at 375 F or 185 C, for 8 to 10 minutes, or until they’re lightly golden brown around the edges.
  8. DEVOUR THEM!

Here’s how they turned out!

Post #68
This is a very old picture and the colours look really different, but aren’t they just the cutest! I even smushed together some of the rainbow dough and made a kind of marble-y effect cookie. It was so beautiful in real life.

Notes and Specifications

  • The only thing to keep in mind with this recipe, is that, when using food dye, be sure to use a lot more than you think you need, because the colour lightens a lot when baking.

That is ittt for this recipe, and I do hope you give it a shot!

Thanks for reading. Y’all rock.

ThePastryPoet, signing off.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

