The Thailand Diaries – Day One

Zombie (n) – how you feel when you’ve just woken up from a two hour nap which was only supposed to last thirty minutes, and everything is too bright and too loud

Ain’t that the truth.

What’s poppin friendssss??

Mid week again, and a day left for the weekendddd!

Now, if you know me or if you’ve been reading my blogs, you’re probably pretty familiar with my family. I’ve portrayed them as a crazy bunch of people who live for parties, music, dancing, and everything fun.

Because that’s exactly who they are.

What you may not know about us yet, is that we also love to travel!

My mom’s dream is to travel the world, and she has a kind of scary obsession with Paris. I’m not even exaggerating, there are about fifty different types of Eiffel Towers and Paris-related paintings and items in my house, and anyone who’s ever been to my place can vouch for that.

We are always travelling within India with our cousins, but Dad decided last year that we would have one family vacation for just the three of us every year, to a different destination every time, and we started with Thailand in May 2016!

I cannot forget this trip because it was so flippin fantastic, and I thought it would be fun to recount it for you guys! We were there for four nights and five days, and I actually kept a journal while I was there, so I’m going to be describing all 3 days in detail for y’all (since the first day we were travelling from India to Thailand, and vice versa on the fifth day) !

Let’s begin!

Actually, before I get started with the events of the day, let me just tell you exactly where we were staying. We went to Phuket, and a real hotspot for Phuket tourism is Patong Beach. It is beautiful, but it’s also insanely crowded, so my Dad (the one who organised this entire trip for us as a surprise, and gave us no details beforehand except, to reach Mumbai on the 30th of April) decided we would be staying at Karon, just a few kilometres ahead of Patong.

Guys, Karon Beach had all the awesomeness of Patong (maybe even more) without all the crowds and chaos. Novotel, where we were staying, was literally across the street from the beach, and was a resort it was! It was the most luxurious place I’ve ever stayed in, and it was so huge that we had to take the hotel’s buggy to get to our room from the reception. Speaking of rooms, I would have agreed to spend my whole life there in a split second. That place was heaven.

Seriously.

Now, let’s get started with what actually happened on our first day in Thailand!

Breakfast – My eyes opened at 9:30am, and the first thing I could think of is “OMG IS THE BREAKFAST BUFFET CLOSED DID I MISS IT NO NO NO”. Turns out we did not miss it, and after we freshened up a bit, mom, dad and I set out for the long walk from our room to one of the restaurants, because, as I mentioned before, the resort was HUUUUUUUUGE! Let me just tell you, I have a thing for breakfast buffets, and by a thing, I mean a complete obsession. They make me insanely happy. So when I saw this one, I bubbled over from satisfaction and dissolved into a mess of extremely excited goo. That was the most elaborate breakfast spread I have seen in my entire life, just looking at all the options took about 20 minutes. I don’t think I need to tell you that I ate my weight, and drank gallons of ice cold water. Why? Because if you didn’t already know, Thailand is HOT and HUMID, which makes sense because it’s a collection of islands. Coast = sticky. Think the climate of Mumbai, about 10000 times more intense. There were times were you could actually feel the heat searing into your skin, and you know that sweat where it’s not actually sweat but this super annoying kind of stickiness? Yeah, that. There was lots of that. I loved it, but it resulted in lots of icy water and freezing drinks all the time. Yum! Anyway, some of my breakfast included cereal, eggs and bacon, sausages, several chocolate muffins, beef and soy noodles, and a bunch more.

Yes, I am a hog.

Oink.

Beach – After that insanely satisfying meal, we trudged back to our room and got ready for the beach. Of course, we had to slather ourselves in bottles of sunscreen before we could step outside. Sunglasses, a few towels from the room, hats, and we were set! We simply crossed the street to get to Karon Beach, and WOW. It was the cleanest, prettiest beach ever, and since I absolutely love the ocean and swimming and all water things, I had the time of my life. We did all the normal beach-y things, testing how far into the ocean we could go, laughing at Mom as she kept getting knocked down by waves (she’s super scared of water, but she’s a sport so she always comes with us). Both Mom and Dad loved the coconut water, obviously. It was almost spilling out of the coconut when the guy gave it to us!

The Best Lunch Ever At The Beach – This post is going to have a lot of ‘the best’, which says a lot about our trip 🙂 . Anyway, after we were done with our beach-y things, we decided that we didn’t want to eat at the hotel all the time! In order to taste some authentic Thai food, we found ourselves at a shack on the beach, for lunch. I don’t know what you think of when I say ‘shack’, but this one had tiled floors and great wi fi. You see, we loved the food there so much on that first day, that we made it a point to visit The Shack every day. In fact, we even have photos with the owners because they had recognised us as their regulars! After returning to India, we tried endlessly to find the Basil Chicken which we just could not get enough of, but nothing ever came close to The Shack. I’m gonna call it that now.

Back At The Hotel – With full bellies, all three of us crossed the street and walked back to our room. Mom called dibs on the shower, which wasn’t really a problem for Dad and I. We simply set out wet towels onto the patio chairs to dry off in the sun, and jumped into our plunge pool! We had one of the rooms which came with a private plunge pool, and it was bliss. While I was enjoying the water and watching my hands and feet get all wrinkly, Dad was trying to figure out how to turn on the Jacuzzi points in the pool. I was almost disappointed when Mom came out and it was my turn in the shower.
Exploring – It felt great to clean up and put on some fresh clothes (we took multiple showers a day because it was so hot, almost every time we were at the hotel!), and after that, we set out to explore Phuket. One place called Tiger Kingdom looked super interesting, and wow, did it live up to its reputation! At Tiger Kingdom, people are given the opportunity to get up close with real, live tigers. There are various ages, from babies to fully grown mammoth sized ones, which you can choose from, and the animals are also treated very well, allowed to roam out in the open in a nice environment which has been created for them. At the same time, it is also very safe for the visitors, and you have a trained employee who knows how to work with the tigers, with you at all times. Mom, Dad and I cuddled and played with tigers under the age of one year, but that didn’t make them any less terrifying! Of course, we were perfectly safe, but I was almost peeing in my pants. Wouldn’t you?!

Shopping – Of course, we couldn’t not go shopping as long as my mom was with us, and it was pretty fun! Bangla Road is famous for its amazing street markets, so we went there first. We picked up so much awesome stuff, including two very cute floppy sunhats. We also visited a huge mall where we all relaxed and had some coffee, then shopped some more, and went to McDonald’s for some cheeseburgers. After we were done buying souvenirs and things to bring home for our friends and family, it was time for dinner.

Dinner – This was the perfect end to the day. As we explored the mall’s amazing selection of eateries, we couldn’t ignore a Sushi place! We devoured the delicious sushi while contemplating whether my Mom should get a tattoo or not. Good times. Then, we took a Tuk-Tuk back to the hotel and passed out in the comfort of the room.

That was a summary of everything that happened on our first day in Thailand, and I will be back next Wednesday with Day Two!

I hope you enjoyed reading about my trip, because I certainly enjoyed reliving it!

Let me know what you thought in the comments below, and thanks for reading

ThePastryPoet, signing off.

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Is this cool or is this cool. Even I went to Thailand 🇹🇭 last year in may!!!!!!!!!!! 😀

    Like

    1. Hahah OMG we must be soul sisters gurl! Thanks for reading 💜
      ThePastryPoet

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

