Champion Churros

Hey guys! It’s me 🙂

First of all, I am super sorry about missing the last two posts. I like to type my posts out on the day when they’re supposed to go up, and that means that sometimes a really busy day or laziness (hehe) can make me miss my post. Although I take my posting schedule very seriously, there are some days where I just don’t feel like doing anything, and I’m sorry to say that that’s what happened here. But, you guys will get both Friday’s and Saturday’s posts today (yay it’s double post day 🙂 ), and I will be back to my normal posting schedule from tomorrow.

I’m also going to type posts out in advance and schedule them, because I tried it out this week for Wednesday’s post and it makes life so much easier. It will also make sure I don’t miss any more posts.

Three cheers for organisation!

I’m so lame.

Now that that’s out of the way, let’s get on with the recipe!

My family is a big fan of pretty much every single cuisine. Really. And when it comes to my mom and I, we literally survive on two main cuisines: Mexican and Oriental. As I have mentioned before, oriental food is pretty much our fatal weakness, because there could be a volcano erupting right next to us and the thing we would be most worried about would be the Sushi place closing down.

I kid you not.

Two years ago, our infatuation with Mexican food led us to actually try making Churros, instead of just watching videos of how to make them, and drooling. Although, Churros are actually a Spanish snack, not Mexican 🙂

Needless to say, they were an incredible success, and the best part is, I’m going to share two recipes with you today! One for vegan Churros, and one for regular Churros!

I’ll be honest, I wasn’t too sure when I first made the vegan recipe. We made Churros as dessert when my friends came over for a sleepover, and I have a vegan friend, so we didn’t want to make her feel left out. I was pleasantly surprised to see how they turned out. They were just as fluffy and awesome as regular Churros, and if you weren’t the ones making them, you really would not be able to tell the difference.

These are not my recipes, and I have not developed them. Both have been created by the awesome guy at the BakeLikeAPro YouTube channel, and you can click here to watch the full video tutorial of the vegan churros. Although there was also a video tutorial on his channel for the regular Churros, I cannot seem to find it anywhere, so I assume that he must have taken it down for some reason. However, the recipe is tried and tested, and you can take my word for it that it works 🙂 .

Regular Churros

Ingredients

  • 1 cup of water
  • 1 cup of all purpose / plain flour
  • 3 tbsp of unsalted butter
  • 1 tbsp of vegetable oil
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 tbsp of regular granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp of vanilla extract
  • Additional oil for frying the Churros
  • Cinnamon sugar for coating the fried Churros

Putting It All Together

  1. Add the water, butter, oil, vanilla, and sugar to a saucepan, and bring to a boil. Keep stirring the mixture, and you know you can move on to the next step when the butter is fully melted.
  2. Turn off the heat, and add your flour. You must stir continuously until a thick dough is formed.
  3. Turn the heat back on, and cook this dough for about a minute.
  4. At this point, you should put some oil in a deep pan, on the stove to heat. You’ll need this oil to be hot for deep frying the Churros.
  5. Remove the dough from the pan, and transfer it into a mixing bowl.
  6. Crack your eggs into this bowl, and mix, mix, mix, until you have a smooth (but very thick) batter.
  7. Put the mixture into a piping bag (with a star tip, if you want those classic ridges which are so characteristic of Churros), and pipe the strips into the hot oil.
  8. Remove from oil when golden brown, and immediately dip them into some cinnamon sugar, coating them fully. The leftover oil on the Churros helps the cinnamon sugar to stick.

 

  1. At Step 2, when you first add the flour, everything will look very lumpy and it will seem like there’s not nearly enough liquid. This is perfectly normal, and you just have to keep mixing and it will eventually form a smooth ball of dough.
  2. I’ll be honest, just seeing what your dough looks like at Step 8 may make you want to give up. When you first add the eggs, the dough will break up into chunks and kind of swim around in the liquid eggs. Basically, it will look like a complete disaster. Once again, this is perfectly normal, and it freaked me out too. But, like I’ve said before, you just have to keep mixing, and eventually the eggs will blend in to the dough and you’ll get a very sticky batter.
  3. Piping the churros into the oil is a very difficult task. The batter is much more solid than liquid, so it’s hard to force it out of a small piping tip. Therefore, the larger the tip, the easier it is to pipe. Also, a simple trick is to use a pair of scissors to cut the Churro when you’re dropping it into the oil.
  4. You don’t need to buy your cinnamon sugar from the store! Simply grab some cinnamon powder and some sugar, and stir them up together. Voila!

Vegan Churros

Ingredients

  • 1 cup of water
  • 2 tbsp of sugar
  • 1 cup of all purpose / plain flour
  • 1/2 tsp of salt
  • 2 tbsp of vegetable oil
  • Additional oil for frying the Churros
  • Cinnamon sugar for coating the fried Churros

Putting It All Together

  1. Simply add all your ingredients except the flour, into a saucepan, and bring to a boil.
  2. Turn off the heat, and add your flour. Keep stirring, until the mixture forms a dough-y ball.
  3. Heat up some oil in a deep pan, which you’ll need for deep frying the Churros
  4. Put the mixture into a piping bag (with a star tip, if you want those classic ridges which are so characteristic of Churros), and pipe the strips into the hot oil.
  5. Remove from oil when golden brown, and immediately dip them into some cinnamon sugar, coating them fully. The leftover oil on the Churros helps the cinnamon sugar to stick.

Notes And Specifications

As for the regular churros 🙂

I know what you must be thinking: how come no photos this time?! Trust me, I was so bummed when I realised I never actually took photos of these awesome treats, not even once out of all the times I made them 😦 . However, I will be making these VERY soon just so that I can post some pictures for you guys, so do not worry 🙂 !

Thank you so much for reading, and I hope you try out this amazing recipe! Let me know if you do 🙂

ThePastryPoet, signing off.

Leave a Reply

