No Bake Ginger and Coffee Dessert

HAPPY FRIDAY FAM!

Honestly, I can’t believe how fast the days have been passing lately. It feels like it was Monday just two minutes ago, right?!?! Though I’m glad it’s not. 

Mondays are a disease. 

Another weekend, another two days that are going to fly by even faster than the weekdays. 

But another Friday means another dessert post, and so, here I am!

Today’s recipe is dedicated to all those lazy people (i.e. people like me). Especially because it is a Friday, I am SO SO SO lathergic right now and don’t feel like getting off my butt at all, because for the rest of the week, I am mostly on overdrive. Just hustle, hustle, hustle, and the exhaustion hits with full force on Friday. 

I bet everyone, everywhere gets me right now 🙈. 

Anyway, what if you have a bunch of guests coming over for dinner, but your brain is convincing you that the right thing to do is to curl up under the covers and never leave the sofa again? In other words, what do you make when you need something sweet but can’t fight off the laziness?

This. 

I first ate this amazing and shockingly simple dessert when one of our lovely neighbours brought it down for us to taste. I fell in love with it the way I fell in love with Iron Man: DEEPLY. 

Here’s my go to recipe for lazy day, no bake, five minute dessert!

Ingredients

  1. A packet of ginger biscuits (or, you can make your own!)
  2. 3 tsp instant coffee powder
  3. 1/2 cup boiling water
  4. 1/2 cup whipping cream 

I know right, the last time I saw a recipe with so few ingredients was back when dinosaurs walked the earth. 

I love Jurassic Park. 

Right, recipe….

Putting It All Together

  1. Dissolve your instant coffee powder in your boiling water to make a strong coffee. Of course, you could use a proper coffee machine and make actual brewed coffee, but this way is so much easier and tastes just as good (if not even better!!)
  2. Take one ginger biscuit, soak it in the coffee for about 7 seconds, and then place it on the dish you’re going to serve the dessert on. 
  3. Whip your cream, then pipe some right on top of your soaked ginger biscuit. 
  4. Repeat steps 2 and 3 two more times, until you have a stack of three soaked biscuits with layers of whipped cream in between.
  5. Make sure to pipe your last swirl of whipped cream a little decoratively, because that’s the one which will be seen! 
  6. Garnish with some grated chocolate, and a mint leaf (personal favourite)
  7. Chill for an hour if you have time, I feel that it tastes better!
  8. DIG IN!!

That is literally it, and I cannot even EXPRESS how delicious this is. With its creamy textures and sinful flavour combination of ginger and coffee, it’s sure to become a favourite in your household too. 



Also, these pictures are quite old so please excuse the dull colours, I’m much better at food-tography now 🙈. 

Really, though, what was I thinking with that lighting?! They look MUCH better in real life!

Please please let me know what you thought and if you would like to give it a try!

Thanks for reading 🙂

ThePastryPoet, signing off. 

Leave a Reply

