Mall Memories

Someone in the building burped so loudly right now, they probably made Godzilla feel insecure about his roar.

For real, though. That is not something I want to hear.

Haha, hey guys! I am back on this wonderful Wednesday, as promised.

The gods seem to be smiling down on me lately, because today is the second consecutive day of sunshine during monsoon season! Someone out there likes me 🙂

Take that, rainclouds. Find another city to cast shadows over.

Anyway, as I have mentioned before, sunshine has this magical energising effect on me that makes me feel super productive and hustle-y, so I am just blazing through my to-do list today! Which includes typing this post up in advance, because I am going on a Mother-Daughter shopping trip today with, well, my mother (I know right, such a shocker).

The mall is quite symbolic in our family. Dad would rather eat asparagus everyday for the rest of his life than go shopping, and mom has pretty much spent half of her years there. She’s one of those shoppers who will go in for a dress, and come out with pretty much everything else. She’s also quite like a hellhound when it comes to smart shopping, she can sniff out quality products for the best price from miles away. ‘Value for money’ is her life’s motto, and good deals seem to present themselves to her like “You bellowed, Queen?”. Kind of like how I would present myself to Genevieve Marshall, if I ever got the chance to do that.

As for me, I have a pretty complicated relationship with faire du courses. See, I’m all for malls and shopping, but only when it’s for me. I know, I know, that sounds stupid and self-obsessed, but I can’t help it. After we’re done getting everything that I want, I start to get bored out of my mind and retire to the food court where my dad is also getting bored out of his mind. Meanwhile, my mother frolics around completely in her element. And she can do this pretty much anywhere. I’m sure all online shopping websites have a throne or something for her, because this is her after Amazon has a sale:

post-49.gif

Anyway, back to what I was saying. So yeah, the mall and I are on speaking terms. Good food court in mall = happy Pastry Poet.

Today, my mom and I are going to watch the highly anticipated Wonder Woman, and I realised that I actually have some pretty hilarious memories of the mall which I would love to share with you.

Let’s get stuck into it!

  1. I was in Sydney, about four or five years old I think, and my grandparents had come to visit us from India. We all had taken a trip to the mall in Campbelltown, one of my faves, and were happily shopping in the shoes aisle at Target. The next thing I remember is seeing a red ball, like a really pretty red ball, and diving in and out through aisles, zigzagging through racks to find it. Fast forward to ten minutes later, I am completely and utterly lost, but not really freaked out because it had been drilled into my head in school that when you are lost you find a responsible adult. I don’t know exactly know, but I managed to find the office and tell them what happened. My family found me (obviously super super worried) a few minutes later, happily sucking on a gummy worm that the nice Target lady gave to me as a reward for finding her. Classic.
  2. Time jump! Eight years later, it is the day of one of my best friends’ birthday. Everyone in the society is super pumped because she is taking all of us to the mall for a party and some pizza. Now that’s not all that exciting right now, but at that time, it was a big deal because I had just become close to my society friends and this would be the first time that I went out with them. The problem? Both me and the birthday girl had a maths exam the very next day, ugh. But with a lot of convincing I was allowed to go, and I was ecstatic. Picture a huge bunch of friends so close they’re basically siblings, in Pizza Hut, unsupervised because the parental units decided a ‘thali’ place was more their speed. Chaos. As we enjoyed our pizza and had a blast, we overheard some people at another table who thought we were all siblings. We found this absolutely hilarious and decided to play along, and the best part was seeing the expression on their face when they saw so many sets of parents come to pick us up. We totally had them fooled!
  3. This one isn’t funny, but it’s definitely one that I will remember forever. Mom and I were on one of our famous mother-daughter shopping trips in Sydney, and I don’t actually remember how old I was. Anyway, there were a few events happening at the mall that day, and we had the best time ever. What we realised when we finally left in the evening was that we had been shopping for…..wait for it……NINE HOURS. That’s right. My mom and I once spent NINE HOURS in a mall, and it was amazing!

Wow, what a workout it was to pull out that folder of old memories from my brain and blow the dust off of em’!

(I believe that anything can be turned into a metaphor. I love you, English Language)

Thank you so much for reading, I truly hope you enjoyed this post 🙂

Feel free me to leave me a comment telling me what you thought of this post, or to share some of your own memories of the mall!

Stay tuned, fam.

ThePastryPoet, signing off.

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow. You have some pretty thrilling experiences in the mall!! I especially like the second one!😃

    Like

    1. Haha I can’t imagine why 😂😏
      ThePastryPoet

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

