Marble Cake? Hells yeah. 

First week of tenth grade: officially aced.

Hey guysss!

What did I do when I got home today? Ignored all my weekend homework and took a nap, duh. Then I binge watched ‘Dance Academy’ on Amazon Prime and BOOM. Suddenly, it’s eight o clock.

Today is Friday (yes!) which means a dessert related post is coming up for you guys.

Actually by the time you read this it won’t be ‘coming up’, because it is this one.

Hehe.

Anyway, today’s recipe is one so beautiful that you can eat it all with your eyes. Whoever looks at it can’t resist taking a slice (or fifty), because it is so visually pleasing. The amazing swirls of vanilla and chocolate make this cake a real hit.

You guessed it! Today’s recipe is a wonderful Marble Cake 🍰

Let’s get on with it.

This is not my recipe, and I have not developed it. I have used it from the AllRecipes website (which is amazing, by the way. One of my go to places for recipes), and you can click here to check it out. Although, the pictures show the results of my own baking.  

Ingredients 

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 cup white granulated sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder

Putting It All Together

  1. First of all, reserve about 4 tbsp of the milk and set it aside. You’ll find out why I did this a bit later.
  2. Then, cream your butter and sugar (cake recipes have become so predictable 😆) until light and fluffy.
  3. Add in your eggs and vanilla, beat well on medium – high speed to get rid of any eggy taste in the batter.
  4. Next, simply sift together all of your dry ingredients, excluding the cocoa, and incorporate them into the batter. Keep mixing until you’ve achieved a lump-free, smooth consistency.
  5. Now, divide your batter into half. Pour the first half into a greased baking tin.
  6. Then, mix in your cocoa and the reserved milk to the other half. The milk helps to loosen up the chocolate batter because it has extra dry ingredients ( the cocoa ).
  7. Pour your chocolate batter into the tin, right over the vanilla.
  8. Take a knife, and very slowly, swirl it back and forth to create the beautiful marble effect between both the batters. TAKE CARE NOT TO SWIRL IT TOO MUCH, otherwise both the batters will COMBINE and you’ll have a very weird kind of cake 😵.
  9. Bake your cake at 350 F or 180 C in a preheated oven, for about 35 minutes. Although, for large cakes, I always like to take it out when I think it’s ready (skewer inserted in the middle test is failproof)
  10. Eat it!

Here is how it turned out!


How BEAUTIFUL does that look? Oh my godddd it’s so pretty 😱.

Okay, so I had a little note for this recipe.

The steps on the AllRecipes website are very different to this. In fact, they start off by chucking all the ingredients into a bowl and just blending them together. That is absolutely fine, and you should follow whichever method you want to. This, however, is the one which has worked for me and given me the best results, which is why I shared it with you.

Thanks for reading!

Stay tuned fam 🙂

Note: OH MY GOD HOW DID I MISS THIS?! This was supposed to be posted on Friday, according to my post schedule, but I just realised that I finished the whole thing and never pressed ‘publish’! What?! Ugh. In any case, here it is now, I guess 🙂 . Luckily, the date is displayed of the day when I started this draft 🙂

ThePastryPoet, signing off.

Leave a Reply

