The Mortal Instruments Series Is Now In My Possession

Hey y’all, what’s poppin?

Fun fact: I typed ‘pooping’ twice while trying to write ‘poppin’, and only realised my mistake while proofreading this for the second time. Glad I caught it in time (barely). Hahah.

Anyway, today was my third day of tenth grade, and it’s been pretty great so far!

Let me tell you a story about what happened on my first day of this school year.

Or rather, what happened after the first day of this school year.

I entered home with my mom, and walked straight into my room to freshen up before lunch, just like I do on every other school day.

What I managed to miss though, was the huge ‘AmazonPrime’ parcel sitting proudly on the dining table. Now I don’t actually know how I managed to overlook that, or how I didn’t figure it out immediately, because an Amazon package usually means books or sale splurges. And mom had made it quite clear that sale season was very sadly over πŸ™‚ .

But as soon as my mom said there was a surprise waiting for me, I knew.

BOOKS! YESSSSSS!

I know what you’re thinking.

Didn’t you just get ten new books over the vacation?

Well, let’s just say my mom was in an exceptionally good mood, and I know how to exploit it. Hehe.

These babies were waiting for me inside the box!

Post #44post-44-2.jpg

I know, right? How beautiful are those covers??

See, The Mortal Instruments is one those series which is right up there, in terms of hype and well-known-ness and humongous fandoms, with the Divergent and the Percy Jackson. It might be surprising that I’m not totally obsessed with this series yet, since I’m such an avid reader. Especially when this one is so popular. Like, I think my grandmom knows the deal with these characters, but I don’t.

So, this is just gonna be a very short and casual discussion about my expectations and thoughts about The Mortal Instruments series.

Okay, so The Mortal Instruments is the first part in the Shadowhunter Chronicles by Cassandra Clare, which includes these series:

  • The Mortal Instruments Series (of course)
  • The Infernal Devices Series
  • The Dark Artifices Series

Since all of these novel series are part of the same world, many people have recommendations as to the order in which to read the books, They claim that by switching up the sequence in which you read them, you protect yourself from spoiler early on. I know, sounds like the Machete Order which is so very popular with the Star Wars world and Rajesh Koothrapalli.

Now personally, I don’t believe in these orders. I think the author obviously released these books in a certain order using some kind of logic, and that’s the order we should stick to. However, if you wanna change up the sequence, you do you, no problem. That, and I don’t have any of the other books so I don’t have a choice but to read it in order of publication πŸ™‚ .

Then there’s all the hype that these books have gotten.

Personally, I’m a trust-the-hype kind of reader. Yes, this has let me down quite a few times, but I still feel that a book must have gotten its fame for a reason, and we should trust that. That’s just me, though. I repeat, you do you.

But because of the Mortal Instruments’ immense popularity, I have really high expectations for it. I want to be blown away, and if I’m not, I really will be very disappointed 😦 .

Also, I don’t really understand what it’s all about. I mean, Harry Potter was about wizardkind. Percy Jackson revolved majorly around Greek mythology, and Divergent was about those weird factions.

And The Mortal Instruments is about……monsters?

I don’t know, I just don’t find anything unique about it yet.

Of course, that is probably because I am on page twenty of ‘City of Bones’ and I’m sure I’ll end up loving it.

Well, that sums up my short little discussion about my new books!

Please feel free to leave a comment below letting me know your opinion of this series, and any advice you have for me about reading it!

Thank you for reading, and I will be back on Friday πŸ™‚

ThePastryPoet, signing off.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Thaomi Dao says:

    Lovely post!! Those seem like such thick books to get through πŸ˜‚ I only watched the movie for the first book and fell in love. I heard there’s also a TV show, but I don’t like it as much. I’m also reading The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold and The Glass Castle for my summer reading assignment for AP English 1!! Super excited…but I get so overwhelmed with wanting to read so many books. What I realized is they take time, and sometimes I wonder off a lot while reading a page. But I’ve been turning to books to read lately when I feel sad to get my mind off things πŸ™‚ Thank you for the post! Please feel free to stop by my blog and leave a review on some posts!! Hope to see you around πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Hey there Thaomi! My gosh, I was so overwhelmed when I saw this comment because I didn’t think anyone would take the time and effort to leave such a thoughtful one, thank you sooo much! Yes, I’ve heard of the TV show! I’ll definitely give it a go after I’m done with the books πŸ™‚ they are thick, but honestly, that’ll tell me if it’s good or not. If it is, I’ll never want it to end! And I can completely understand about you getting overwhelmed with the urge to read too much, happens to me every single day. Honestly though, my TBR is permanently HUGE! I’m glad you’re getting into reading nowadays, I feel it’s one of the best hobbies you could ever have. Thank you so much for coming by, I’ll drop by your blog as soon as I can πŸ™‚
      I love your stuff too πŸ’œ
      ThePastryPoet

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thaomi Dao says:

        Ahh!! Fangirling ❀️ You are just the sweetest!!! I guess I can say going on WordPress and reading your blog posts are inspired me to read too haha. Keep up the amazing work πŸ’œ

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

