School’s Starting Soon. Let’s Talk.

Yeah, this is depressing me.

Hey guys. It’s your friendly neighbourhood Pastry Poet (I’ve been binge watching the ‘Homecoming’ trailers, so excuse that reference).

I have decided to pay attention to the calendar lately, and it has been telling me some very sad things.

I have only one week of vacation left.

Exactly 7 days from now, at this time, I’ll probably be trying to stay awake in Maths!

How is it even POSSIBLE for TWO WHOLE MONTHS to fly by that quickly??

There’s a lot of things about a new school year that make you think, and I’m going to talk about them today. It’s not going to be one of my usual, well-organized posts with lists. It’s going to be a discussion, a rant, for all students like myself.

Okay, so the first thing that comes to mind when I think about school is supplies. My mom and I are freakishly obsessed with stationery, and back to school shopping is kind of like a dream for us.

Right now, my school things are scattered everywhere across my room, but that’s gonna have to change soon. I have to get a new backpack, new folders, organize my books, sort out what is gonna go where in all the different pockets of my bag, gather all my pens and pencils and erasers, write my name on all my new notebooks. Just preparing for that first day is a workout in itself.

Then there’s my routine.

You know, the beauty of vacation is that every day is a Friday. You never have to worry about waking up the next day, because most of your responsibilities as a student have flown out the window with the end of school. As a result, my days have been very…..lazy.

Now this can never be a bad thing, but it can get boring. When I don’t have to spend seven hours of my day in a classroom, my life becomes so random. I wake up, maybe watch a movie, write my posts, then walk around in a daze knowing that I can do whatever I want, whenever I want, because I have virtually all the time in the world, ya know what I’m saying? Reading, writing, playing with my friends, baking, practicing keyboard, shopping, partying, all these things become very normal.

But when school starts back up, suddenly my day has structure again. I have a very set routine during school days, and it will be nice to have some purpose again, rather than just lying around all day.

Although, I know I’ll be singing a different song when school actually starts 😉

Also, I know that I have homework and assignments to complete, so free time becomes limited, and there is some beauty in that. There is a weird sort of satisfaction in reading your favourite book for 20 minutes, because you completed your essay on time. There is a weird sort of satisfaction in watching a movie, because you got all your pending projects done early. All these leisurely things which have become so very normal during my vacations, suddenly become precious again. Because you have a routine, you have a plan and you have to stick to it, you have to get things done unless you want to end up in detention, which I would personally like to avoid. You can’t afford to do whatever you want all the time, which actually makes those things even better when you do have time to do them.

Am I making sense? I hope so.

But with that being said, it’s still sad that I won’t have as much time for everything I love, which includes blogging. I will probably have to restrict my posts to thrice or four times a week, because there will just not be enough time.

Next, let’s address the fact that this is going to be a particularly difficult school year. Why? Because it’s tenth grade. In India, a majority of the people treat the tenth grade as if its some sort of death match in the Colosseum, like ‘YOU MUST COME OUT ON TOP OR ELSE!’  Tenth graders have to give their board exams in this year, which will apparently have a large impact on their college applications and their careers, yada yada yada. You see, these exams are important, sure, but they are dramatized so much that it’s crazy. It’s not uncommon for students to crack under the pressure and the expectations. Make of it what you will, but I like to think of it as just another exam. I know they’re important and of course I’ll work hard to do well, but we’ve all written exams before and stressing out more about these ones isn’t gonna magically gonna make you any smarter. I have my own goals for my board exams, and I promise I’m gonna achieve them, but I refuse to freak out about them. Cool, calm and collected always succeeds.

And of course, it would not be school without drama.

I like to think my class is especially drama free, but you can’t escape conflict altogether, as much as I would like to. Somehow, rumours will spread and friendships will break, and I just don’t want to be involved man. I’m all for a little gossip, but when I think about it, I have been used and cast aside too many times by other people for me to get involved in their petty issues. I just want to stay away from it all this school year, because I know now who my real friends are and what I want to accomplish.

I am very excited to go back to English class, because it is my absolute favourite subject in this world, and I love my teacher and her assignments, and YAY it’s gonna be so great!

As for my class, I don’t know if I’ll be in 10A or 10B this year, or if my class will even be the same. But that’s okay, because as I said before, I am going to focus on my studies rather than the people in my class. That doesn’t mean I’m going to become a loner, hell no. It just means that I know what ‘priorities’ are now.

Also, I will be having my big tenth grade farewell in January, which is very far away but still very exciting! And sad, because, it is a farewell after all.

I guess we can’t deny that things will be different this year :/ .

Anyway, I am typed-out now, so thank you for reading! I highly respect and appreciate you if you could make it to the end of this huge rant 🙂 .

Could you relate to me? Do you have any similar thoughts regarding the new school year? Please let me know in the comments below!!

ThePastryPoet, signing off.

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Even my school is starting in a week!!

    Like

    1. Twinsies! Now we can be depressed together 🙂
      ThePastryPoet

      Like

Leave a Reply

