The Coffee Book Tag

Hey guys what’s poppinnn?

I have been meaning to do this tag for a few days now, and it looks like today is the day! I was over at Maxxesbooktopia, an awesome blog dedicated to bookish banter, and I loved all of his answers for this tag. The concept is so cool, and I love coffee, so this was perfect for me!

Without further ado, here is my take on The Coffee Book Tag

  1. Black – Name a series that’s tough to get into but has hardcore fans.

Post #41 (12).jpg

Without a doubt, for me, there is no other answer for this except ‘Lord Of The Rings’. J.R.R Tolkien’s collection has gotten so much fame and one of the most die-hard fandoms ever, which shows just how good it must really be! However, I simply cannot bring myself to read it. I just can’t. I have tried endlessly, but something about my copy having all six books put together, the tiny font size, and the vast pages of background material and appendices, just pushes me away each time. Hopefully, I can get into it someday, but for now, the mammoth-sized book is staying on my shelf.

2. Peppermint Mocha – Name a book that gets more popular during the winter or a festive time of the year.

Post #41

This book is just so easy to read and lighthearted, which, for me, is perfect for the winter. I can’t say for sure if it gets more popular during the festive season, because people love this novel all year round, but I would love to cozy up with some hot chocolate and read this book. When it’s already so cold and dark outside, I personally wouldn’t want to read anything too heavy, so this fun tale works best for me!

3. Hot Chocolate – What is your favourite children’s book?

Post #41 (2)

Oh my god, when I was thinking of an answer for this one, I saw these on my bookshelf and became so nostalgic! The EJ12 series is one that I still love so so so so much, and I am seriously considering buying all 21 of them, because they are so good. It’s your typical children’s series, super thin (about 100 pages each) with a handful of words on each page, but the storyline is super amazing and the covers are beautiful. Every ten year old in Australia grows up on this adorable series 🙂 . You can’t go wrong with secret agents. Just ask James Bond.

4. Espresso Double Shot – Name a book that kept you on edge from start to finish.

Post #41 (3).jpg

Ugh, it is torture trying to choose one book for this description, because there are so many books that qualify! However, if I absolutely had to pick, I would say the entire Hunger Games trilogy, specifically the first one. There’s a very good reason that people have been raving about this series for over 8 years, and still do.

5. Starbucks – Name a book you see everywhere.

Post #41 (4)

I read this book because I literally could not escape it. Seriously. It was like every time I turn around, someone’s crying over sticky notes or drawing violets and birds on their hands, and it was cray-cray. When I first read this, I flipped out because I was madly in love with it. It was a miracle among literature. But after I gave it some thought, I realised I didn’t like it as much as I thought. It’s still definitely worth a read, because no one can shut up about it.

6. Decaf – Name a book you were expecting more from.

Post #41 (5).png

This was the easiest choice in the whole tag, for sure. When I read this book, I was on a contemporary YA romance kick, so I guess I had some pretty high expectations for this book. The thing is, Eleanor and Park was too…bland for me. It lacked thrill and substance, and I was quite let down when I finished it, because I wanted it to be a lot more.

7. The Perfect Blend – Name a book or series that was both bitter and sweet, but ultimately satisfying.

Post #41 (7).jpg

I hadn’t even heard of this series, until a friend made us all read it. The If I Stay duology is pure genius. It’s short, wonderfully written, and in the first book, Gayle Forman tells the story in a very unique, never-done-before way. They are superb, and the second book was kinda confusing and bittersweet (before the ending, of course), but at the end, I left the series with all the feels.

8. Green Tea – Name a book or series that is quietly beautiful.

Post #41 (11).jpg

Since You’ve Been Gone isn’t the most impactful book you will ever read. It’s not life-changing or heart breaking, but it is beautiful. A simple, satirical coming-of-age tale about friendship, it will leave you smiling at the end. It’s funny and daring, and it’ll make you appreciate those who always have your back.

9. Chai Tea – Name a book that made you dream of far off places.

Post #41 (8).jpg

I’m not even going to try to explain this one, because if I get started, I’m going to be here all day. All I can say is, I want Uncle Rick to adopt me. I’ve re-read both of these series about six times now, and they KEEP GETTING BETTER MAN. The whole time, I envision their battles in my mind, and they really did make me dream of such a world where both the Greek and Roman gods exist. Dude, that is awesome. Especially if the gods are as cool and funny as Uncle Rick makes them. For the record, though, I liked the old covers of ‘Percy Jackson and the Olympians’ series much better than these. The Heroes Of Olympus series’ new look is pretty cool, though.

10. Earl Grey – Name your favourite classic.

Post #41 (9)

Yes, that is the movie poster because all the covers except my edition are not very pretty, and I was too lazy to take more pictures :). I genuinely love The Great Gatsby, even though it’s the only classic I’ve ever read (hehe).

That sums up The Coffee Book Tag, you guys! I had a ton of fun writing about all these books, and anyone can do this tag, so give it a go! Please tag me if you do it (#thepastrypoet), I would love to read all of your answers!

Thank you for reading, and I’ll be back soon.

ThePastryPoet, signing off.

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Chai Tea- all Percy Jackson and Harry Potter books📚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. True that!!🎉🎉
      ThePastryPoet

      Liked by 1 person

  2. lifeofangela says:

    I really like this tag! I don’t feel like I’ve read enough books lately to fill it up though XD

    Like

    1. Thank you so much! I agree, it can be hard to make time for reading sometimes 🙂
      ThePastryPoet

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

