BOTM 002: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

What’s up ma peopleeeeee??

So this morning I woke up and I was like “Yo, what day is it?”

I don’t know how or why, but I seem to lose track of time on vacation, along with my responsibilities, and any sense of productivity I might have had once.

Anyway, I realised it was Wednesday, which meant I missed yesterday’s post for nothing!

See, I made this post schedule a while back. Then, yesterday, I got it mixed up and well, it’s a long story. Basically, I missed that post for no good reason.

Wow, I’m an idiot.

That’s why I now have a post it with my post schedule, stuck on my wall.

Maybe I should stick it on my forehead.

This month, I’ve missed four posts, and the strange thing is, all of them were after I came back from vacation, when I thought I would have more free time and never miss a posting day. I’m not proud of it, because I didn’t even have a legitimate excuse for missing these posts. Sure, I was feeling a little under the weather which probably contributed to my laziness, but it was still my fault.

I promise I will not miss any more posts if I can help it.

Leave me alone, procrastination!

Yesterday was May 23rd, which means it is time for BOTM!

BOTM is a series I started a month ago here on my blog, in honour of World Book Day. On the 23rd of every month, I will post a detailed review of the best book I read that month. Hence, BOTM (Book Of The Month). Although the best monthly read is reserved for BOTM, I do review other books I’ve read as well. You can find them in the ‘Book Review’ category. And don’t worry, all of them are completely spoiler-free!

Let’s get on with it then!

May 2017 Book Of The Month

We Were Liars by Emily Lockhart

Synopsis

We Were Liars falls into the mystery genre, along with a heavy romance subplot, to the best of my genre-classifying abilities. I’m probably wrong, but that’s what it felt like to me. The novel follows Cadence Sinclair, one of the daughters of the affluent Sinclair family. Being a Sinclair is social status. It makes you a somebody in the world. But there is always something going on behind the scenes of every wealthy family. The splendour keeps dark secrets, and the money threatens to break people. Every summer, Cadence and all of her Sinclair cousins stay at their villas on their private island, Beechwood. Cadence is suffering from post-traumatic depression, and the reader takes an amazing journey with her, and her cousins, to relive all the summers they’ve had at Beechwood, so that Cadence might piece together the puzzle of her accident. It’s an amazing tale about family, love, and just how poisonous wealth can be.

Characters

First, I’ll address the protagonist, Cadence Sinclair Eastman. See, this is what makes this book so startlingly different from any other story. During the course of this book, I feel that Lockhart doesn’t reveal much about Cadence’s individual personality. I do have an idea of what kind of person she is, but it’s quite vague. However, I think that’s perfectly okay in this case, because Lockhart has successfully managed to convey how hard the accident has been for her. By telling us as less as possible about Cadence, she conveys that the trauma has taken over her life. That Cadence equals her accident. Her pain. Her suffering. There is nothing else, for her. However, I loved the portrayal of Gat, the boy who Cadence falls in love with. I loved his intelligence and how he questions everything in life, yearns to solve every mystery. I liked how the author handled his Indian heritage and his emotions. There wasn’t really a character I didn’t like in this book. Johnny and Mirren were also such beautifully woven characters, and I loved how fun and daring both of them were.

Storyline

I am not capable of describing the storyline of this novel accurately. It’s on a whole other level, you guys. I read a lot, and so I thought that I was prepared when it came to tragedy being the main focus of a plot. Just goes to show how wrong you can be. I loved how the novel focusses mainly on family, even if there is a romantic addition. I don’t see that very often in YA, and I don’t think I will ever see it done so beautifully. People have their own perceptions of any affluent family. But Lockhart shows that so much more hides behind the closed curtains. Being an heir to wealth like that of the Sinclairs, is never as wonderful as it seems, and ugh, the author conveyed that just SO WELL, OH MY GOD. She handles the after effects of a life-changing tragedy so well. What’s maddening is the plot twist at the end. You see, I have an uncanny ability to foresee plot twists, so not many books are able to surprise me. But We Were Liars, is not one of those books. It will leave you confused, broken, in tears, unable to believe that you couldn’t tell from the very start of the book. It is, BY FAR, the most terrifying, impactful, absolutely UNPREDICTABLE plot twist you will ever read in your lifetime. This book, oh my god, it’s crazy. Crazy, crazy, crazy good.

Writing

The writing of this book is GOALS. The style is so utterly unique, it makes every word seem so impactful. Like, for real, she could’ve written just one word ‘punch’ or something, and I would be here bandaging my arm because, yo, I felt that punch. Emily gets you right in the FEELS every single time. Every sentence is so deep, so meaningful, and the reader just can’t help but become immersed in Cadence’s world. See, Cadence’s situation throughout the story is so delicate, and miraculously, the author has managed to put me in her shoes. She makes the reader feel Cadence’s pain, grieve for her horrible losses, regret her mistakes, and share some of her heartache, her trauma. Also, I respect Lockhart so incredibly much for being able to deliver such an impact in only 222 pages. I used to think that was impossible. Is the writing easy to follow? Hell no. Is it ABSOLUTELY SPECTACULAR and A COMPLETE MASTERPIECE? You bet your mama.

Binding

Sadly, it was not a hardback (aw man). But, it was one of those floppy paperbacks which meant I could open it all the way without cracking the spine, and also, it included a map of Beechwood Island (YES YES YES YES YESSS MAPS IN BOOKS YES YES YESSS)! So it was amazing. Thumbs up. The font wasn’t too big or too small, and can I just say, it smelled really, really good.

Overall

Anything I say will not be enough for this novel, but it is truly life-changing. Notice that I didn’t have a single bad thing to say about it, because I rarely come across such ‘perfect’ books. However, if there ever was a perfect book, it’s this one. We Were Liars is a literary masterpiece, and once you have read it, I promise you, you will never be able to judge another wealthy family again. Stellar 🙂 . It proves that books don’t need to be long, to be powerful.

My Star Rating

724617265961581659 out of 5 stars. I’m sorry, okay? It was just too good.

Well, that was it for my incredibly long review of the amazing novel, We Were Liars by Emily Lockhart. I hope you liked it!!

I will be back with another BOTM next month, and until then, stay tuned for more reviews and bookish/baking posts 🙂

Thanks for reading!

ThePastryPoet, signing off.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. youknowme says:

    omg yessss ‘We Were Liars’ is one of my fav reads till now. Thank you for suggesting and letting me borrow, ily!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ayeeee I’m always happy to pass on the book love 💜💜 you’re always welcome gurllll
      ThePastryPoet

      Like

Leave a Reply

