ThePastryPoet’s Original Chocolate Ganache Tart!

In the September of 2015, I came home to an empty house, after school. My mom had gone out with a few relatives, which meant that I had the house all to myself in the evening. I opted out of the trip, because I planned to put on a movie, chill with some chips and coke, and preferably, experiment a little with my baking.

This is exactly what I did that day, and while I was in the middle of the Hunger Games, I decided to surprise my mom when she came back.

I had never tried a tart before, and I wasn’t satisfied with the recipes online.

So, I decided to try a completely foolproof plan, where absolutely nothing could go wrong.

I decided to make my own recipe!

When I was making the tart for the first time, I was just using my knowledge of baking to put something good together, and praying that I didn’t mess up royally. Well, turns out that crossing your fingers actually works sometimes!

Aside from my go-to chocolate mousse recipe, this is my all time favourite dessert to make. A whole lot of people have tasted this, and all of them have fallen in love with it immediately! Ugh, the deliciousness.

Let’s get on with the recipe!

This, for a change, is not someone else’s recipe! The recipe for this chocolate tart has been developed by yours truly, The Pastry Poet. Any similarities to any other recipes for chocolate ganache tart are purely coincidental, and the pictures below show the result of my own baking. Enjoy 🙂 !

Ingredients

For the filling / good stuff

  • 1 cup cream
  • 3/4 cup dark chocolate chips
  • 4 tablespoon milk
  • 2 tablespoons plain flour
  • 1/2 tsp instant espresso powder

For the crust / the rest

  • 1/2 cup plain biscuit crumbs (Graham crackers or Digestives would be perfect, if you live in India, I used good ol’ Marie 🙂 )
  • 5 tbsp melted butter
  • 1 tbsp Nutella

Putting It All Together

For crust / the stuff that nobody is really interested in, but you need it and it’s actually pretty yummy
  1. If this got any easier, babies would be pastry chefs. Just combine all three ingredients (biscuit crumbs, Nutella, butter) until you have the texture of wet sand.
  2. Press the mixture firmly on the bottom and sides of a tart mould, or a springform pan.
  3. Refrigerate while you work on the filling.
For filling / the stuff that everybody actually cares about, like Hercules. Eurystheus can be the crust, though he probably wouldn’t taste as good. I don’t know, man. Just cook, would ya?
  1. Pour the cream into a saucepan and let it simmer. Do not let it boil, though.
  2. Add in your chocolate and espresso powder, stirring the ganache continuously until everything until you have a smooth, chocolaty mixture.
  3. Chuck in your flour, and cook the mixture (stirring continuously, again) for about 2 to 3 minutes.
  4. Take the ganache off the heat, and pour in your milk. Also, try not to eat it right away.
  5. Pour your chocolaty goodness mixture into the refrigerated tart moulds, and put the whole thing back into the fridge for a minimum of four hours. You don’t want to take it out to eat, and have it slop all over your new dress because you didn’t let it set, would you now?
  6. Eat it.

Here’s how they turned out the first time!

Post #37.jpg

Notes and Specifications

  • The best thing about these is how customisable they are! For my mom, I usually sprinkle on some chopped walnuts after they’ve been chilled about an hour, but you can use whatever you’d like! Here, I made them all fancy-like to impress a few members of my family 🙂 . I piped on some pink-tinted meringue, and sprinkled some of the crust mixture (which makes for a delicious crumb) over the top! Yum.
  • When you have just added the chocolate to the cream, please do not stop stirring. If you do, the chips will sink to the bottom, stick there, and get scorched. Not so appetising after all, because your plans for an amazing dessert will literally ‘crash and burn’.
  • Don’t leave the flour out. It provides essential stability to the ganache, making sure it doesn’t collapse on you and leave you treat-less.

Yesss, that is it for my very first original recipe! I do hope you give it a try, because it is amazing (if I do say so myself 😉 ) and super easy!

Let me know what you thought in the comments below 🙂

ThePastryPoet, signing off.

 

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. lifeofangela says:

    Props to you for doing an original recipe! That’s so cool 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Angela!! I’m glad you liked it 🙂
      ThePastryPoet

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

