Cool Facts To Boost Your GK 002 – Ocean Edition!

I’m sickkk and I want my mommy and lots of sleep and preferably a bubble bath 😦

In accordance with my wonderful luck, as soon as I get home, my stomach decides to feel like it’s being run over by a truck.

I should be playing football right now, or swimming (well maybe not because it’s nine pm over here, but you get the point), or getting into trouble with my friends.

But noooo, my old friends nausea, weakness and stomach-ache have decided they need to pay me a visit.

Yuck.

So that is why I am in my room (it’s so good to be typing at my study table again), writing away, while I try to ignore the sounds of my friends arguing downstairs, about who won the last match of basketball. I would give anything to argue with them right now.

Hmm, never thought I would say that sentence.

Yesterday, I was supposed to post twice for missing my post on Wednesday (travel day). However, I only managed to post once, so I will try my level best to post twice today! If I am too sick to do so, double-post day gets carried over to tomorrow.

Stupid sickness is messing up my whole schedule.

Without further ado, let’s get onto the ‘Ocean Edition’ of this week’s ‘Cool Facts To Boost Your GK 002’!

  1. If we could capture just 0.1% of the ocean’s kinetic energy caused by tides, we could satisfy the current global energy demand 5 times over. Wow, is that crazy or what?!
  2. The world’s oceans contain nearly 20 million tonnes of gold. Next time your wallet’s empty, go to the beach.
  3. It’s okay to pee in the ocean, since 95% of urine is water, and the nitrogen in urea is used to feed ocean plants. See, you weren’t being disgusting when you were 5 year old! You were just doing those poor, hungry plants a favour.
  4. Jellyfish are the world’s most efficient swimmers, consuming 48% less oxygen than any other swimming animal. Apparently, they’re good for something other than stinging!
  5. We have better maps of Mars than we do of the oceans, because man has only explored about 5% of the deep seas.
  6. The world’s largest waterfall, the Denmark Strait Cataract, lies between Greenland and Iceland – underwater.
  7. The Giant Sinophore, a deep sea invertebrate, can reach a length of upto 40m. Blue whales are 30m long, maximum. Oh snap, the world’s largest animal just got dethroned! Deep sea drama.
  8. It is estimated that 90% of deep sea dwellers produce light from within themselves, known as bioluminescence. And here I am, being scared of the dark.
  9. 99% of all shark species have been eradicated.
  10. There are more artefacts from human history at the bottom of the ocean, than in all of the world’s museums combined. Who knows, maybe history teachers will take students diving in the future.

This was a fun little post to write! Hope you liked it!

ThePastryPoet, signing off.

One Comment Add yours

  1. I hope we do go diving in future for artefacts.😄

    Like

Leave a Reply

