Kids’ Shows That I Am Not Ashamed To Be Addicted To.

Sometimes, I think a seven year old soul is just using my body for a physical form.

But then I see that I’m almost always eating, and decide that I must actually be fourteen. Because no way can a first grader have this appetite, and live to tell the tale.

Seriously though, I derive an immense amount of pleasure from watching shows that are intended for smallies with colouring books. I only realised it a few days ago, when I was watching one of said shows with my sister and this is how the conversation went:

Me: “WHAT? MAMA P IS THE EVIL ONE? OH HELL NO!”

Nine Year Old Sister: “Um yeah”

Me: “THAT IS SO MESSED UP DO YOU SEE HOW MESSED UP THAT IS”

Nine Year Old Sister: “You’re sitting on my hand”

Me: “NO NO NO NO WHAT ABOUT GINA AND BECKY AND SAFFRON FALLS?”

Nine Year Old Sister: “Mom says it’s rude to talk loudly”

And I’m the eldest cousin. Me.

After that, I proceeded to do actual, responsible, big-sisterly things with the littles, but I swear we literally reverse roles when that TV is on.

Needless to say, I am unusually passionate about shows meant for children. And I am NOT AT ALL ASHAMED ABOUT IT. Maybe just a little. That’s a negligible amount you don’t need to worry about that. When I binge watch these shows, I freak out and text all my friends the link to watch the shows online. They pretend to like them, but then in school, they tell me I’m super lame (they’re kidding of course, but still). I don’t care care care I WILL WATCH THESE SHOWS, COME JOIN ME CHILDREN OF THE WORLD!

1. Iron Man: Armored Adventures

Post #35

I first watched this show when I was in the States, on my little sister’s Netflix. We did nothing else until we finished both seasons. This AMAZING show is all about teenage Tony Stark and how he invents the suit, and of course all the legendary battles he fights with it. Can I just say, this is among the BEST series I have EVER seen. The animation is so great,  and it features the whole gang (Tony, Rhodey, Pepper). This one show was the whole reason why I got addicted to Iron Man. It made me fall in love with the character when I knew zilch about Marvel. The best part is, because the characters are teenagers, you get to see so much more than what you usually see of T. Stark in the movies. Naturally, it was discontinued after two seasons, but those two seasons are stellar. It’s so funny and had me at the edge of my seat the whole time! Plus, the theme song is the catchiest in this universe. I sing it loudly and off-key all day, it is so so so so so SOOOOO GOOD PEOPLE. You might still be able to find it on your Netflix, but otherwise, every episode of both seasons is available on Dailymotion.

2. Marvels’ Avengers Assemble

Post #35 (3).jpg

Bless Disney xd (I had to type that in the lowercase because capital x and d become an emoji) for making this show available to us Indians at practically any time of the day. It’s pretty self explanatory, the show is all about the Avengers’ super cool battles. Now, people say this is a kids’ show, but I really don’t understand how children are going to understand all the jokes and comments in here. It’s not inappropriate in the least, but I can’t imagine an eight year old grasping it. What makes this show even cooler (aside from ol’ T’s awesomeness) is Hawkeye’s HILARIOUS sense of humour and Widow’s sarcasm. Hulk, Thor and Cap are the same as always (awesome, but the same), and frankly, I don’t really notice Falcon. Sorry, Sam Wilson. Anyway, GO WATCH IT! You won’t be able to get enough of Earth’s Mightiest Heroes.

3. Just Add Magic

Post #35 (4)

This addiction started only a few days ago, when a few of my relatives told me I had a twin: the main character in ‘Just Add Magic’, Kelly Quinn. It was insane, you guys. They said I was EXACTLY like her, and by exactly, I mean my walk, my talk, my behaviours, my hairstyles, my clothes, my expressions, everything was the same as hers. So I decided I had to see for myself if it was true. Now, I am HOPELESSLY hooked. Follow Kelly, Hannah and Darby as they find a magic cookbook, and struggle with curses and mysteries in Saffron Falls. It has cooking, and magic, like MasterChef meets Harry Potter. It was made for me. But no matter who you are, you’re sure to love this. It’s been about a week since I saw the first episode, and literally all I care about is finishing both seasons. I think it’s an Amazon original, so you can find it on Amazon Prime Video. For the record, I still don’t see the clone-ness between me and Kelly. But everyone else does, so okay!

That is it for today, I hope you liked this post, and be sure to let me know if you watch any of these shows, or if you love watching kids television as much as I do!

Be back soon.

ThePastryPoet, signing off.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

