Book Review: Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

Yes, it’s double post day again because I missed yesterday’s post, and yes, I missed it because I was hanging out with my cousins!

I am so predictable on vacation.

Anyway, I posted about my Huge April/May Book Haul a few days ago, and I promised that I would review those books soon, since I have read quite a few of them. Well, I am going to make good on that promise!

Here is my completely spoiler-free review of Morgan Matson’s Since You’ve Been Gone.

And no, this is not May’s BOTM (Book Of The Month). If you didn’t know, BOTM is a new series that I started here on my blog, where I review the best book I read that month. That will be coming up on 23rd of May, so stay tuned!

Let’s get on with the review 🙂

Synopsis

Since You’ve Been Gone is a very entertaining read. It centres around Emily Hughes, a teenager who just wanted to have the perfect summer with her best friend. Sloane and Emily are kind of a double package, you don’t get one without the other. But when Sloane disappears from the town without leaving any clues as to where she is and why she went, Emily is left with a billion questions. All she has left of Sloane is a list of daring tasks that Emily must complete. With the help of student body president Frank Porter and his hilarious friend Matthew Collins, Emily sets out to solve the mystery of her other half’s disappearance.

Characters

I loved some of the characters in this book, and liked others. Sloane is the ‘it’ girl. You know the one. Every girl wants to be her and every guy wants to be with her. She is the badass of the duo. Always knowing what to say, and where. Always up for a new challenge, and fiercely loyal to her friends. I loved her character. I appreciated that she wasn’t just the outgoing one, she helped Emily come out of her shell too. I enjoyed reading about how she could make friends with anyone, and I thought she was very well portrayed. Emily? Not so much. Emily narrates this story, but I just couldn’t like her as much as I liked Sloane. I didn’t dislike her at all, but I just felt that her personality was kind of….bland. This might actually be the point, because there was supposed to be a special emphasis on how Sloane was everything that Emily was not. Even so, I felt that we knew very little about Emily, except that she depended on her best friend greatly, and that she liked to run. Frank Porter was nice, but not my favourite. He was the dependable, popular one, with the straight-As and the fangirls. Aside from the main characters, I LOVED Collins. He is the goofball of the gang, and I love goofballs. As you know, I love humour and Collins was so full of trashy jokes and mood-lightening comments that I really couldn’t help but admire his character. I think he was Morgan’s best achievement with this book.

Storyline

I have been really into novels about friendship lately, so this one was a home-run in terms of that. Sloane and Emily have a really strong bond, and one thing which I absolutely loved seeing in this book, was the changes in Emily’s personality. She grows so much throughout the course of the novel and you can really tell by the time you’re done reading it. However, I think the book lacked an actual solid plot. I prefer books with a really solid plot, maybe some conflict or a major problem that gets solved, so I didn’t love this one as much as I wanted to. That’s why this story is great for pure entertainment. Also, I was not a fan of the ending. I was really craving a mysterious or serious reason behind Sloane’s disappearance, so I was a little let down. That being said, I thought the concept of the ‘list’ and how Sloane wanted Emily to let loose a little was really nice, not something I’ve seen before. The romantic sub-plot (I will not reveal between who, because this is spoiler free) was a good addition and I was relieved that it didn’t take over the entire story. Although, the whole not-so-popular girl gets the super popular guy thing, was a little clichĂ© and predictable.

Writing

Since You’ve Been Gone was very well written. It was not a literary masterpiece, but that’s okay because I think it was supposed to be a light, fun read, which it definitely was. Morgan Matson’s style of writing was nice and easy to keep up with, and it had a way of making me feel like I was Emily, which is the sign of a good author. She incorporates humour, agony, sadness, and romance in the perfect balance and thus, creates a great reading experience for the reader.

Binding

It was one of those floppy paperbacks which allowed me to open the book fully without cracking the jacket, which is WONDERFUL!! Also, I hate yellow pages so I was delighted to see that this book bright white pages. The best part though, was the photo of Emily and Sloane that was included in the book. It’s such a unique little addition and it helps to connect with the characters because you know exactly what they look like. You know the satisfaction you get when you see the movie adaptation of a book, because you can finally tell exactly how the characters are supposed to look? It’s like that, but you don’t have to wait for the movie! Really great. 

Overall

I really enjoyed this book! It was well written and great for a light, fun read. 

My Star Rating

3.5 out of 5 stars. 

That was my review of Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson, I hope you liked it!

Thanks for reading 🙂

ThePastryPoet, signing off. 

Leave a Reply

