The Weird Reading and Writing Habits I Have

This was originally posted on the 3rd of May. However, I had to delete the original and post it again due to some errors. This is NOT today’s post, which will be posted later today ๐Ÿ™‚ . Thank you!

Some people are perfectly normal, when it comes to the two activities mentioned above. They crack open a book, read it, and then put it away as one is expected to do when reading a book.

I’m not one of those people ๐Ÿ˜‚.

I write and read a whole lot, and I don’t do it in the way that most people normally do. Want to know more? Keep reading ๐Ÿ™‚

1. I can only write alone

Especially when it’s a piece that is really important to me, such as one for school or a contest, I simply cannot write in the presence of other people. This is actually so unlike me, because I usually despise being alone. But for writing, it can only be me and my thoughts. The reason for this is that I am SUPER easily distracted, like it’s not even a joke. And I end up writing what I’m thinking. So if people are conversing about, say, bunnies, and I have to write about WW2, the story will probably end up being about killer bunnies with bombs. Disastrous. Maybe I have ADHD (Camp Half-Blood, here I come!). Also, I always tend to come up with better ideas when it’s just me. Weird, right?

2. I hardly open the book while I’m reading it.

This is not an exaggeration, just ask anyone who knows me well enough. Unless the book is a hardback (bless them) or one of those floppy paperbacks (which, by the way, are a boon to the human race and the best thing since Tony Stark), I will not open the book more than about two inches wide. Why? Because I am OBSESSED with not cracking the spine of my books. I HATE IT (want to know my ultimate rules for book-borrowers, where I rant about jacket-crackers and other stuff too? Click here). It gets on my nerves so much oh my god I can’t even explain it. That’s why I hardly open the book. Risking my eyesight to preserve the spine of a book is perfectly reasonable, okay?

3. I block out everyone and everything while I’m reading.

Here, I’m not referring to how I have a book-induced hangover after I’m done with the book. No, this is about what happens when I am actually in the process of reading it. When I’m reading, I don’t seem to notice anything that happens around me. Straight up, there could be an 7.5 magnitude earthquake and I would be like ‘WHAT? PLOT TWIST!’. Seriously, though. My mom keeps warning people not to talk to me while I’m reading because, first of all, I won’t hear them. I won’t. Really. I might notice that someone is talking, but I won’t actually process what they’re saying because as long as the book isn’t finished, I belong in an alternate dimension ๐Ÿ™‚ . Secondly, I get SUPER annoyed when someone tries to shake me out of that dimension. It’s strange, but I can’t be the only one. Right?

4. I always need a snack and a thesaurus when I’m writing.

Again, just ask anyone who knows me well, for confirmation. Let’s start up with the Thesaurus thing. The thing is, I LOVE words. I love how there seems to be a word for every situation, every emotion, every colour, every behavioural characteristic, EVERYTHING. And I’m always looking for ways to improve my writing. That’s why I am constantly on the search for a better word to use. Vocabulary is invaluable, especially for aspiring writers, and it’s one of the reasons why I take so long to write any complete story or piece. I’m cracking open the thesaurus every ten seconds. Then there’s the snack thing. No detailed story to explain that. God turned my ‘Hungry’ button on when I was born, and forgot to turn it off ๐Ÿ™‚ . Also, that’s the only time I eat (or do anything, really) with my left hand, because I write with my right (heheheh ‘write with my right’ ahahhah).

Well, that pretty much sums up the weirdness for today.

But, not for long!

I will be back again tomorrow ๐Ÿ™‚ .

Stay tuned for more! Follow my blog by scrolling to the bottom of the page, if you want to receive an email every time I publish a new post ๐Ÿ™‚ .

ThePastryPoet, signing off.

 

Leave a Reply

