Making Perfect Meringue Was Never Easier

Greetings!

I’m really gonna have to come up with better introductions. (‘Greetings’? Are you kidding me right now?)

Aujourd’hui, I am going to share with you the best meringue recipe ever. There’s really no fancy way to say it (okay there probably is, but you know…..laziness…..), it’s just the most perfect recipe EVER. It’s worked for me every single time, and I remember being so scared to try it the first time because it looked so fancy and professional. Also, I’ve seen on MasterChef and YouTube videos that eggs are very temperamental, so that didn’t really help matters either :/ .

However, if you plan on making these anytime, you won’t have to sweat it at all, because as long as you follow these instructions, they’ll work every time!

I have not developed this recipe by myself. It’s from CupcakeJemma on YouTube. She makes the most amazing desserts and you should check out her website at http://www.cupcakejemma.com/! However, the pictures show the true results of my own baking 🙂 .

Post #6

Ingredients

  • 3 egg whites
  • 1 cup icing/castor sugar
  • Food colouring (optional, see below for details)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Yup. That’s all you need.

Putting It All Together

  • This one’s kind of a no brainer. Whip your egg whites on medium speed for two minutes, until they’re doubled in volume and are producing very small bubbles. You’ll notice that at the start, the whites will foam up immediately and create very large air bubbles. You don’t want that, continue beating until the bubbles are almost too tiny to see, Professor Flitwick style. At the beginning, it will look similar to the froth on top of that Starbucks Frappuccino that you know is too expensive, but obsessively drink anyway. Don’t lie. We all do it. Java Chip all the way people.
  • Next, continue whipping those whites on high, gradually adding sugar until they form stiff peaks, and are thick, glossy, and too pretty to touch.
  • Mix in the vanilla
  • Now this is optional, but I actually used CupcakeJemma’s Circus Rainbow Meringue idea, and they were so pretty! If you want to do this, then take a paintbrush and carefully paint little stripes of gel food colouring on the inside of your bag.
  • Next, just pipe out your meringue onto a parchment-lined baking tray.
  • Bake in a preheated oven at 150 C for 25 minutes, then turn the oven off and leave the meringues in there for a minimum of an hour.

Here’s how they turned out the first time!

Post #6 (2)
You can see how stiff and glossy the meringue is by looking at how the tips stand up firmly!
Post #6 (3)
Just as pretty after baking 🙂

Notes and Specifications

  • Before doing anything, you MUST clean your bowl and beaters thoroughly with a kitchen towel and some vinegar. If there are any food particles or dust in your egg whites, they will not whip up. It’s annoying, but they’re stubborn. They’re especially finicky towards egg yolk.
  • Letting the meringues cook slowly in the turned-off oven ensures that they are crispy on the outside, but nice and mallowy on the inside.
  • You’ll know when they’re ready, when they come off the baking paper easily, without sticking to the bottom.

That’s it! If you have any questions (meringue-related or otherwise), don’t hesitate to ask in the comments below 🙂

I’ve noticed that I’ve been getting a lot of views, but hardly any comments. If you have a minute to spare, please drop me a comment, because I want to know what you think and what you want to see in the future. It really helps. Thank you!

See ya soon.

Post #6 (4).png

ThePastryPoet, signing off.

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Meain Girl says:

    Hi!
    Thanks for sharing this recipe!
    I’m going to my grandparents today and I have to bring them a sweet treat:) I will definitely use (well, at least try!) this recipe. I love the effect the food colouring brought. I really enjoy reading your blog, and would LOVE if you did more baking and writing posts 🙂 And I really like the way you use memes!
    R xxx
    P.S I sent you an email too 😉
    I’d love if you checked out my blog, I do similar things to you on my blog.
    http://meaingirl.blogspot.ie/

    Like

    1. Hi Meain Girl, I am so so glad you enjoy my blogs! Haha I can assure you that I’ll keep posting regularly and that your grandparents will looove the meringue!
      If you follow my blog, you’ll get an email every time there’s a new post ! I’ll check out your blog for sure 🙂
      Thank you so much 🙂
      ThePastryPoet

      Like

Leave a Reply

