An Excerpt of My True Writing Style

Today, things are going to be a little different.

My blog is where I can just relax, be a teenager, and talk about the things I love most. That’s why my writing style and language is usually very laid-back and casual, which, trust me, is a refreshing break from the requirements of IGCSE English. Studying IGCSE English means that I always have to be on top of my game when writing. Since I am currently on vacation, I have the freedom to write however I want, which is actually kind of weird. I’m so used to writing deep, well-structured sentences with a rough draft all planned out beforehand, that I have to go back to doing that once in a while.

So today, you guys are gonna get a taste of how I actually write. I love writing fiction and school requires me to write a lot of narratives which I would love to share with you guys, but the sad truth is, some of those pieces have original ideas which I really love, and I don’t want to run the risk of having them taken by anyone on the internet.

But for now, I’m going to show you the answer to a question which asked me to:

Write between 350 – 450 words on the following topic: “Castaway”, an episode of a story in which a character is marooned on a desert island.

I’m fine with publishing this piece because the idea of a character getting marooned on a desert island isn’t actually mine. However,

This is solely my work, and all phrases, sentences and content in this piece have come from only my brain. Any similarity in style, or content, to any unpublished, or published work(s), is purely coincidental.

So without further ado, here it is!

Castaway

I never asked to taste a mouthful of sand. Yet, there I was, with a bleeding ankle and a tongue coated in grainy particles. Cursing frequently, I picked myself off the ground, rinsed out my mouth with shockingly saline liquid, and hobbled rather ungraciously over to the towering palm tree in the distance.

I could just make out the formation of an incipient dawn, rosy tendrils of warmth and light extending outwards from the sky. It was my seventh day of undisturbed solitude, but the start of the day had brought nothing more than excruciating pain. Black spots swam before my eyes and the agony of the wound dulled my senses, but I knew that a second of sleep would be too much. I kept myself conscious with the image of a boat in the distance, an illusion of a floating sanctuary that would never come. With much difficulty, I fashioned a temporary splint for my ankle out of bark, and seaweed to hold it together. The act utilised all of my energy, causing me to slump backwards on the tree trunk.

Midday arrived too soon, the sun’s heat had turned my insides into a raging inferno that ached to be extinguished. I had spent the morning by gathering resources to construct a new shelter for myself, after last night’s high tide had reduced my previous one to a pile of mulch. Suddenly, I remembered my first aid kit. It was the only resource I had salvaged from the lifeboat, but it contained nothing except a bottle of iodine. Conveniently, a few drops of iodine can act as a powerful water purifier, and it kept me alive. Consequently, I returned to my chores. The day passed as I hauled around waxy leaves, hacked at bark and collected driftwood for a fire.

I welcomed nightfall with open arms, celebrating in the absence of the blazing sun. That day, I managed to catch a fish for dinner. A few stray tears splattered onto my tattered clothes, such was the relief that came with the prospect of an actual meal. However, it took an hour to ignite the damp driftwood and my stomach roared in complaint.

The swaying of the trees in the gentle equatorial breeze was like a lullaby. I became immersed within the sound and allowed myself to think of something other than survival for a few minutes. The memories had hit me with full force, causing me to break down completely as I desperately tried to grasp onto any remnants, any memories I had of a life that didn’t involve this island. Tomorrow would bring another test of my endurance, another horrendous day on this buoyant prison. I didn’t realise when, but eventually I stopped straining my eyes for the sight of a ship and fell asleep with a mouth full of sand.

 That’s it!

What did you guys think? Do you want to see more of my writing? Let me know in the comments below 🙂

ThePastryPoet, signing off.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. youknowme says:

    OHMYGOD. Your writing style is amazing!!! You are so talented! This is just beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you soooooo much!!
      ThePastryPoet

      Like

Leave a Reply

