The Perks of Being a Bookworm

If there’s one thing that I’m sure I’ve done right in my life, it’s getting addicted to reading. Growing up in Australia, I lived most of my childhood within the four walls of my house. Don’t get me wrong, I loved it there, but you couldn’t just walk over to your friend’s house and say “I’m home” like I do here in India. One part was that I wasn’t old enough to, and the other was that I just wasn’t close enough with my friends back in Australia as I am with my friends in India. The friendships I’ve made here are something that I am so thankful for, they’re my family. You’ll hear all about them soon enough 🙂

So anyway, being at home all the time after school, I started to read a lot. My primary school in Sydney also encouraged reading quite a bit, and that was part of why I began to read in the first place. Gradually, my books became my world as I would spend every holiday with my nose in between printed pages.

Over the years, I have come to appreciate being a bookworm more and more. There’s something so rewarding about reading, and it’s frankly quite difficult to find anything wrong with being a bookworm. However, there are some struggles and I’ll be sure to post about that soon!

So without further ado, let’s get on with the perks of being a bookworm.

  1. Escape reality? Count me in.   

Let’s face it. Sometimes, reality is just not appealing. I, for one, really don’t feel like sticking around when my maths test scores are about to come out and I know I’ve written 180 instead of 18 (true story, y’all). That’s when my beautiful bookish bliss comes into play, especially when it’s fiction. When I’m reading, it’s so easy to forget everything and lose yourself in the world that the author has crafted for you. I’m just a bystander in this amazing new story with quirky characters and plot twists and way more excitement than real life (the most exciting thing that happened this week was when one of my friends got hit in the face with a football ahahhahahhahahhahaah). Just kidding, my life’s okay. It’s just so convenient to have an escape route from the real world whenever you want it, and such a fascinating one.

2. You’ll have access to the best writing guides available.

If you’re an aspiring writer like myself, then you probably would have read a lot of books in your lifetime. As a result, you would know that reading is an invaluable treasure trove of tips and guidance to improve your writing. I started writing because I was so in awe of these magic people who could come up with stories without a wand, and I have learnt so much from them. Every author will have a unique writing style and I’ve picked up almost everything I know of writing, from them. For example, I’ve learnt that it’s not necessary to use flowery language to get your point across, and that a good beginning is the key to a successful story. Of course, I was taught all this in school but I never really believed it until I saw it in action (*said every student ever to exist*). Anyway, that was just an example, and there is so much more that you can learn about writing, just from reading someone else’s.

3. You’re gonna be smarter than the average non-bookworm. And then you can rub it in their face!

That was a joke. Don’t do that. Unless you’re sure they won’t be offended. My friends are used to this, but it’s okay cause we’re kinda weird. What I was trying to say in a comedic way (*rhyme alert rhyme alert*) is that books can make you KNOW STUFF. They’re honestly the best source of general knowledge, and that’s really convenient for people like me, who can’t look at textbooks for too long, because my brain threatens to stop functioning. For example, before reading Percy Jackson and Heroes of Olympus, I thought Ancient Greece was the place where everyone wore bedsheets and painted their buildings blue and white. I know, dreadful. The point is, books can teach you so much and spark an interest for topics that you didn’t even know existed (need I mention bedsheet-wearing ancient Greeks again?)

Need I say more? My plot-twist-fed life is great. If you don’t read already you should give it a try. It’ll change your life.

Thank you for reading! Although, since I just started this blog and have a whopping zero comments, followers, views, or likes, I’m just talking to myself. Says an awful lot about my social life eh?

I’m hoping that some of you can help me change those wonderful statistics that I’ve mentioned above! Let me know what you think in the comments.

ThePastryPoet, signing off.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Potterhead4life says:

    I can totally relate to u though I don’t write

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Potterhead4life 🙂 hehe love the username and thanks for reading! You could always give writing a try though!
      ThePastryPoet 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

